Gaddesby 7

Gaddesby 7 is a new race in the LRRL this year, hosted by Team Anstey. Like the other races in north Leicester it will no doubt come to be described as ‘undulating’. It’s by no means flat! The steep downhill at the end is reminiscent of Hungarton’s finish but the course will be even more familiar to runners of the Leicester Round as it overlaps one of the earlier legs. 16 from the men’s division took part at the final count. Identifying everyone from the results was trickier than usual due to Gordon registering as a veteran female (well done on the silver standard time though ‘Ms Landsburgh’!), Chris Limmer hiding in the Sleaford Runners camp and everyone wondering if they should know ‘Paul Martin’ who turned out to be a misplaced West Ender.

Leading the line for Hinckley and in 13th place overall was Matt Johnson who is running brilliantly at the moment. The men’s A team was topped up by the Langhams, the Massers, Simon Earley, Nick Moore and Rolf Hoelmer who continues to enjoy his finest form. Male Runner of the Day was awarded to Ed Batch who has had some ups and downs due to injury over the last few events but he continues to give his best on every race day.

On the ladies’side we had 15 runners including mother-and-daughter Julie and Faye Hudson, and Rebecca Gould and Diane Wildbur joining us for the first time in a road league race!

Our leading lady was Kate Perkins who crossed the line in 50:02 finishing 12th lady. Rebecca Gould ran very well on her first road league race and achieved a club gold standard (but she said she still prefers cross country), next was Bethan Padbury who, nonetheless, is currently taking and revising for her GCSE exams.

Lady runner of the day goes to Diane Wildbur who ran her first road league race and that was certainly a baptism of fire. Diane’s determination and enthusiasm for running (and racing, Diane loves a medal!) has no limit. She has hardly stopped running since taking part in the London marathon  on April 24th as she undertook her “Run every day in May” challenge only a few days afterwards, including the hilly and hot Gaddesby 7 into her challenge. Well done Diane!

Ed and Céline

Matt Johnson leading the way for Team Hinckley
Matt Johnson leading the way for Team Hinckley
Rolf Hoelmer
Rolf Hoelmer
Ed Batch - Male runner of the day
Ed Batch – Male runner of the day
Jacqui Campbell, Charlotte Sinclair and Diane Wildbur, Female runner of the Day
Jacqui Campbell, Charlotte Sinclair and Diane Wildbur, Female runner of the Day

Club Time Trial – Tue 24th May 2016

Tuesday the 24th May will be the timed club 5k event.

Meeting as normal at the Leisure centre then heading down to Logix park. The start is on the footpath next to Johnsons Cleaners.

If you are heading straight to the start please make sure you have warmed up sufficiently and you are there before 6:45.

West End 8 – The LRRL Summer League 2016 has begun!

Sunday 15th May saw 14 Men and 12 Ladies competing in the West End 8 league race. In sunny conditions Matt Johnson led the men’s team home in just over 47 minutes, finishing 16th overall. Father-son combination Chris and Joe Langham followed and veteran Simon Earley was 4th for Hinckley with a rare PB ( his first in four years!)

Male Runner of the day goes to Rob Pratt for a great all round performance – well done Rob and thanks for a great team display by all the Hinckley runners!

On the ladies’ team Kate Perkins was the first home in 56:33, a 6-minute PB on the course and finishing 14th lady. Kate was closely followed by Bethan Padbury. The 3rd and 4th Hinckley ladies were respectively Céline Guéry and Penny Masser , who both achieved PBs for this course.

Female runner of the day goes to Jude McSharry. Jude has really thrown herself into the club life since joining, either by wearing the Hinckley vest on races or by being an enthusiastic supporter (and photographer!). On Sunday, Jude demonstrated  her great team spirit as she was a brilliant support thougout the race to fellow Hinckley runner Jacqui Campbell!

Well done all and see you at Gaddesby 7 on next Sunday!

Jon, Ed, Katy and Céline

West End 8
West End 8
Rob Pratt, Harry Langham and Bethan Padbhury
Rob Pratt, Harry Langham and Bethan Padbury
Jude McSharry and Jacqui Campbell (V&M Images)
Jude McSharry and Jacqui Campbell (V&M Images)

Tuesday 10th May 2016 – Hollycroft Park 1/2 mile reps

It should be lighter, warmer and dryer going forward (famous last words!). So think about bringing a drink, hat, sunglasses etc.

Warm up

Meet at the new Leisure Centre, 1 mile warm up through the park to Church Walk, turn right and head to Castle Street and up to the top. Left onto New Buildings past B and Q. Over the road towards the Weavers Arms and keep going to Factory Road, turn left down Factory Road. At the end, turn right down Hollycroft hill to the park.

Follow this with a lap of the route which is about 1/4 mile. Throw in a few dynamic movements like high knees and walking lunches.

The loop

Hollycroft park

The above loop is approx 1/4 mile. Running it clockwise so along the bottom, turn left up the hill nearer the bandstand. At the top turn left and head downhill on the path nearer Hollycroft road.


Working in pairs or small groups of similar abilities. 2 laps, so about 0.5 miles or 800 meters as about your 5k race pace (or a bit quicker). Follow those 2 laps with a recovery lap just taking it easy having a chat. Repeat for around 35 mins. Work on even effort going up and down the hill as well as across the reps.

Please be aware of other users of the park, we do not have priority. Also be mindful of runners passing you.

Warm down

A run back to the Leisure centre (or your car, house etc). Consider taking a scenic route back and then stretching.

Tuesday 03/05/2016

VENUE: Rugby Road (Outside the Hungry Horse opposite Johnsons dry cleaners)

HORSECHASE VERSION 2 (In pairs you will have 10 seconds to catch your partner up but the loop will be longer than last time to allow better recovery)

6:30pm depart from NEW leisure centre or 6:45pm start on Rugby Road

If it’s nice we will be outside the new LC or if raining we will be in the ground floor meeting room

Thursday Evening Routes 28 April 16

From Penny M:

“The routes are based around the common – I wasn’t sure how many people would want a longer route so I have made the ‘shorter route’ slightly longer for those who want a ‘medium length’ run after weekend marathons.
The longer route involves heading back into the common and back out up the ‘Outwards’ before heading back to base.
Hopefully these routes meet everyones’s needs.”

Longer route (10 miles)
shorter route: (7.3 miles)